S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

OVER REV Information

Old 08-27-2003, 05:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OVER REV Information

Just finished up arbitration on my connecting rod issue and the rep for AHM kept on about the cause being an over rev.

Now there was only one cylinder affected by the over rev--according to them--and all other cylinders showed no marks from the valves hitting them. The cylinder that was damaged had at least 4 hits from both the exhuast and intake valves and appeard to rotate slightly.
Photos can be seen in my Broken connecting rod at 15,000 miles thread....

Does anyone have first hand knowlage of over rev/floating the valves with photos? I really can't see the engine turning at 11k and the valves only contacting the one piston.
Old 08-27-2003, 06:50 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I have no first hand knowledge but have to agree. If you over-rev it will do it to all cylinders, and the only argument is that it was slight enough to only catch one of them before revs dropped. It seems like the rotating strike marks could be either from the piston on the broken rod rotating or maybe from the valves being bent more on each impact.. but that is inconsistent with the only one cylinder symptom.
Old 08-27-2003, 12:20 PM

So when you say you finished your arbitration, does that mean there has been a decision? Seems like you would be going in at a distinct disadvantage, as although they probably didn't have a lawyer PRESENT, you can sure they were prepped by one.

Per Magnusson-Moss, the burden of proof is on THEM to PROVE they should NOT have to pay the claim, correct? This seems like a very sketchy case that they have laid out. It really irks me that they made their mind up to dodge paying out on what seems like a legitimate claim.

I am also suprised the ECM does not store an "over-rev" code.
Old 08-27-2003, 08:35 PM