S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Novice here. Should I just go to the Dealer?

Old 05-17-2016, 12:53 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Novice here. Should I just go to the Dealer?

Hello Members,

New owner here of an 2001 Ap1 with 125k miles. I'm somewhat mechanically inclined and understand how things work. I'm a bit hesitant to get into things too much in case I break something or reach a point of no return. The car I purchased has no history but seems to run just fine except for clutch buzz. A few questions:

How often do valves need adjustment?
What happens if you don't adjust them?
If 1 is a person with no mechanical experience and 10 is ASE certified, where should you be for a valve adjustment?
All this talk about valve adjustment and broken retainers has me nervous about revving my car. Should I be worried with so many miles and no history? She really runs fine but revving past 6k she gets mighty noisy which I expect somewhat.

Dealer for these?
Old 05-17-2016, 01:31 PM

Received 174 Likes on 132 Posts

I wouldn't even recommend dealerships for an oil change.

Post in your local forum and find a mechanic/forum member who has experience with adjusting valves on s2000.
Old 05-17-2016, 02:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

LOL tru dat!
Old 05-17-2016, 03:25 PM

Received 1,439 Likes on 1,071 Posts

Have to concur. DO NOT bring your S to dealer. EVER.

I cant enumerate the reasons. Trust us.

Valve adjust is a 5 on your scale. Its not at all difficult, but it is possible to screw it up, and cause damage.

Follow this one rule though, and you cant screw it up. Dont adjust any valve whose cam lobe is not pointing up. Got it?

You go through the whole, turn to this mark, adjust that, turn more, adjust this, etc. You can screw that up. But if you just make sure the valve you are now about to adjust has its cam lobe pointed up, you did it right.

Sent from my SM-G920P using IB AutoGroup
Old 05-17-2016, 04:04 PM