S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Newbie here... Correct me if I'm wrong, but the only way to ADD HP to the S2K is to

Old 08-25-2003, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here... Correct me if I'm wrong, but the only way to ADD HP to the S2K is to

supercharge or slap a turbo on it? From what I've read exhaust and intake do little but make some sound. Is there no relatively economical way to reach about 270HP? I really want a little extra boom but 350HP is overkill and way too much cash for me.

Any ideas? Thanks...
Old 08-25-2003, 02:03 PM
Former Sponsor

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

An SC will put about 290 HP to the wheels. If you stay NA, expect small gains for big $$.
Old 08-25-2003, 02:08 PM

So, in other words...it's all or nothing? Either you have HUGE power with a supercharger or you have little to no other way of improving power?

Well, if that's the case...what do superchargers do for drivability? What about engine life? Is it greatly reduced?
Old 08-25-2003, 02:34 PM

Here is something to chew on.

Everyday Drive ability is not affected at all.

long term wear and tear? How long have you kept your last 2 vehicles? Most people trade-in every 2-3 years.

Forget CAI, exhaust, or anything else at this point.

The best combo is SC, header, single outlet exhaust with some type of electronics to tune the A/F. Or a custom Turbo set up or turbo kit that has been proven and tested over the last year or 2.

3850-100 = $3750 final price, you can't beat that for the results shown below. The GB distributor told a group of us in e-mail today that they would be willing to hold another GB. Although it would have to be off this forum due to the forums current rules.

Old 08-25-2003, 02:45 PM