S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

New to forum and s2000

Old 02-26-2014, 01:15 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to forum and s2000

hello everybody Im john. I just bought my 2002 s2000 about a week ago and gotta say it is better than i ever dreamed and ive been dreaming of it for 5 years lol. Finally bought a garaged kept speciman in emaqulate shape inside and out from a 54 year old man who had it for 10 years 0 mods purchase price 13k. Was wondering first if it was a good deal and then had a couple of questions on top of it. Theres a raddle sound that can only be heard when the clutch is brought out slowly in first with not much gas and the shifter jiggles around, is this the clutch chatter i have heard so much about? Other thing is i have heard about valve retainers cracking is this very common if you drive the car how its supposed to be driven i mean you dont even get any real usable power till around 6 and a half thousand rpm and i dont think they would give it a 9k redline id it wasnt intended to be turned up like that. Another question i was going to ask is how often to check retainers and do valve adjustments. Any help would be appriciated. All in all though this car is amazing ive always owned american muscle my last car was a 97 ws6 trans am 6 speed and it was a blast but theres something about a 9k redline that is so viseral you think its gonna run out and it just doesnt not to mention the handleing is sick puts the T/A to shame lol
Old 02-26-2014, 03:48 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by johnnnys2k32