S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

need advice on buying tools

Old 12-24-2001, 09:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

I'm looking to buy a socket set and a torque wrench but I'm a total novice in this area so I could use some help. Based on reading a few web sites, I've compiled this questions:

1. SK Tools and Facom seem to be highly recommended as brands that are affordable and will last a long time. Has anyone used these tools? Can anyone recommend a retailer?

2. Should I buy a 6 point or 12 point socket set? Why?

3. I'd like to go with a 1/2" drive ratchet and a 1/2" drive torque wrench so that I can share the same sockets. Would I be better off going with a 3/8" drive? Or should I plan on buying both sizes? Would the 1/2" drive ratchet ever be too large for smaller jobs?

Thanks!
Old 12-24-2001, 10:14 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm not a master mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, but I'll try to answer from my personal experiences...

1) I personally buy everything from Craftsman...they are found at any local Sears store (what city DOESN'T have a Sears?!), and are guaranteed for LIFE. This may sound like a load of crap any tool maker can claim, but Sears follows through. My brother's father-in-law bought a large cargo truck at auction, and in it he found a large toolchest of Craftsman tools that were thoroughly rusted (some even rusted together). He gave the entire set to my brother who took them back to Sears. Sears replaced the entire toolset, no questions asked....we're talking about THOUSANDS of dollars in tools, replaced instantly. Not too shabby, in my opinion...you pay a bit more, but the quality is one of the best.