S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

N/A car with AEM/VAFC

Old 06-18-2003, 09:55 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default N/A car with AEM/VAFC

OK,
Here is a question...
Assuming I had a stock S2k.Do you think there would be a difference in HP if I were to run a properly tuned VAFC compared to a properly tuned AEM EMS .....I personally do not see any possible advantage in this. If I am incorrect, I would like to know why?????

Thanks
Beroz
Old 06-18-2003, 10:20 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

There is definitely more power to be made from an AEM than a V-AFC, since you can adjust fuel curves more precisely and adjust timing. However, the added cost and tuning effort is hard to justify for a few extra ponies.
Old 06-18-2003, 10:45 AM

hummm...... I am not an expert and this is why i'm asking the questions.

How much more fuel fine tuning do you need ? and would fine tuning the fuel curve even give 5 HP through out the band ?

Timing tuning is a very interesting topic, I do not recall anyone writhing about this, All I have been reading is that FI guys always retard their timing to be safe. Has anyone advanced their timing to obtain HP. What HP through out the power band is expected from this?

gernby, I had a feeling you would be the first people to answer....Thanks

Thanks
Beroz
Old 06-18-2003, 12:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

[QUOTE]Originally posted by beroznikmal
[B]hummm...... I am not an expert and this is why i'm asking the questions.

How much more fuel fine tuning do you need ? and would fine tuning the fuel curve even give 5 HP through out the band ?
Old 06-18-2003, 06:12 PM

UL or anyone else please chime in.......................
Old 06-18-2003, 06:59 PM

Received 72 Likes on 61 Posts