S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

my car feels like I am driving on a bumpy road?

Old 02-28-2014, 07:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my car feels like I am driving on a bumpy road?

I was driving home from work yesterday and I felt like I was driving on a slightly bumpy road.... it has not stopped. The car feels almost unsafe to drive, I did not hit anything and did not do anything that would cause this. I am a pleasure driver of my S2000.... not a racer etc... I am also a female and afraid to take it to a mechanic and have them guess. I need some idea so I don't get taken for a ride.... Thanks Kelly
Old 02-28-2014, 08:58 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to the forums. More info will help narrow your problem down. Is there a noise associated with the issue? Are you only feeling a vibration or is the car hard to control? Do you feel shaking through the steering wheel or through the seat? It might be something as simple as loose lug nuts or broken belts in a tire. Give us a little more to work with.
Old 02-28-2014, 09:04 AM
Community Organizer

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

has the car been sitting for a while? it could be cause by a flat spot on the tires. maybe a wheel weight came off. ^^ as he said a little more information could go a long way to help identify the cause
Old 02-28-2014, 09:11 AM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

One thing that would be helpful would be to drive the car to the speed where it feels bumpy and then push the clutch in and let off the gas so engine drops to idle for a few seconds and see if it continues or stops. That would help tell if it's in the engine or transmission---it's unlikely it is but this would tell for,sure.

One of the first things to check would be your tires--if you go to a tire shop and let then drive the car (go with them!) they may be able to narrow it down---hopefully it's just a wheel weight that's come off or a tire that's gone bad (broken belt, etc)