S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Mobil Syntec at first oil change???

Old 03-22-2002, 02:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mobil Syntec at first oil change???

I gots a question for the tech heads... I am not experienced in engine oil or lubing of the engine and I have a strange question. When my salesman delivered the car to me he DEMANDED that when I brin my car back for first oil change to also bring One quart of Syntec! He would give it to service and they would combine this along with regular oil and only do this the first time. He guaranteed this would help lube the engine more effectively! Is there any truth to this statement!

I have my appt tomorrow so I am seeking replies ASAP!

Thanks in advance!
Old 03-22-2002, 03:03 PM

Stick to regular, non-synthetic oil until the rings have had time to break in (7500 miles or so), then consider synthetic oil.
Old 03-22-2002, 05:01 PM

Let the piston rings seat properly before using synthetic, ~10K miles specially for our engines.
If you do not, you will end up with a engine that burns oil excessively and do not perform to its potential.
Old 03-22-2002, 07:35 PM