S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Leaking Clutch Master Cylinder

Old 04-01-2023, 10:53 PM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Leaking Clutch Master Cylinder

Hello,

I was driving my car today and I felt 1st and reverse very hard to get into. At one point, I had to start in 2nd gear since I couldn't get into first gear. When I got back home, I parked the car and went to check to see what was going on. I noticed that the clutch master cylinder was leaking and that the clutch fluid was really low. I found most of the liquid leaking through the back of the clutch pedal and not much on the firewall.

My question is should I replace the whole clutch master cylinder and clutch slave cylinder or can I try to salvage this situation by cleaning out all the old dirty clutch fluid and topping it back with fresh new clutch fluid? I'm a bit worried about swapping both parts as I'm not very experienced in bleeding the clutch system and have read horror stories about people getting air trapped in them. I'd appreciate some insight.

I've attached some photos of the reservoir and the clutch master cylinder.

https://imgur.com/a/4yTiKkW

Thanks a lot in advance!

Old 04-02-2023, 05:03 AM

Received 42 Likes on 28 Posts

Start with suctioning the old fluid out, clean out the reservoir with a paper towel and clean up the leaked fluid in the cabin.

If this seals the leak, then do the same procedure every month to keep the seals in good shape. I do this every month during driving season.

If the leak persists, then you can look at replacing.

Good luck.
The following users liked this post:
windhund116 (04-02-2023)
Old 04-02-2023, 07:41 AM

Received 1,719 Likes on 1,025 Posts

Many here will frequently (every few months) suck out the clutch fluid (often with a "turkey baster bulb" hence the name of the procedure) and then top it off. Doing this often solves a leak problem and prevents one from occurring.
Old 04-02-2023, 10:30 AM