S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Inspection, compression & leak-down done today. Bad results. Your opinions?

Old 10-31-2015, 09:16 PM

Received 115 Likes on 105 Posts
Default Inspection, compression & leak-down done today. Bad results. Your opinions?

Had an inspection done for my new/1st S2k at Ballade today. I didn’t get a PPI before I purchased her (the seller and I both had tight time/schedule constraints); but, I did go through a huge check-list before I bought the car (the S2ki’s “buyers-guide” list). Wanted to make sure everything was fine and if it needed anything though.

The previous owner had an Exedy oem replacement clutch (resurfaced stock flywheel) and a new oem Honda TCT installed very recently, within the last month or around 100-150 miles ago. I wasn’t sure if it was just me or if there was something slightly wrong with take-off/engagement from 1st gear (because I’ve been driving only an automatic Tacoma for the past 13+ years and also living elsewhere in diff cities with no car at all .. so, obviously I am not used to a manual transmission anymore). The last manual cars I had were in the ‘90s - EG and S13, both modded, swapped engines and suspension upgrades). I kinda felt like it was too grabby, “chatter’y” and not that smooth (heavy and similar to a 6-puck high-performance clutch). I thought maybe it just needs to get broken in perhaps (since it only has 100 miles on it..and iirc, I think new clutches need at least 500 miles for break-in). But the other side of me thought it was just me not being used to a manual tranny, (probably 70-80% of my instincts), especially knowing it has a heavier pressure plate, like I've read the Exedy does indeed have.