S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Hydrolock questions...

Old 11-13-2005, 08:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hydrolock questions...

I have the AEM V2, and I've always heard that unless you completely submerge while on the throttle you won't have any issues. Regardless I've always been careful to park facing down hill if I was gonna be in rain... Well the one time I didn't park that way, it rained. When I started the motor, it sputtered bad and stalled. Now it won't crank at all.

What are the best things to look for to determine if it is truely hydrolocked? I started pulling valve cover off and started to go futher, but figured I would ask the experts first.

-C
Old 11-13-2005, 08:53 AM

Im not an expert so wait for others advice. But, when I had my prelude I was driving in HEAVY flooding rain. I got stuck in it. And my intake got really wet, it was soaked but not submerged. I felt no problems, stopped and went into a store, came back out, and the car wouldnt start. I thought I screwed the car up. But I waited like 30min for it to dry up a little, and it started right back up, never had any problems. So I doubt you will have problems.
Old 11-13-2005, 09:24 AM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Before you start tearing into your head, pull out all your spark plugs and shove a tube into each cylinder and suck out any water that may be in them. Pour a small amount of methyl hydrate into each hole, pull the fuel pump fuse and crank the engine a few times to spit the methanol out and dry out the cylinders a bit. Put it all back together and try to start it. If it runs, keep your fingers crossed that you'll never see any further symptoms.
If you are truly worried about it, then go ahead and continue with what you're doing. However, unless you know what to look for, there's no point.
Old 11-13-2005, 10:52 AM

Originally Posted by xviper,Nov 13 2005, 10:24 AM