S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

humming sound.....

Old 12-22-2007, 03:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default humming sound.....

hi guys i just got my car maintained by my mechanic. i had the fluids change to royal purlple on the tranny,engine and differential after i got the car i made a 120km drive and the car is ok then a day after i was driving the car for like 50kms i began to hear a humming sound so i turned the radio off and listened to the humm sound... whenever i go fast the humming gets louder when i go slow it the sound gets lower... i tried to listen where its coming from based on my inspection and observation its coming from my tranny or engine or propeler i tried to put the car in neutral then let it roll down a hill the humming is there even not in gears.... what could be the problem and whats the solution for this problem?? thanks!! is this bad???? will this brake my engine??? sorry noob here

i dont hear the humming from the rear i hear it likes its in the middle... the tranny or propler....... thanks!!!
Old 12-22-2007, 04:24 PM

Received 1,401 Likes on 839 Posts

What exactly did you put in the dif?

sounds like the dif to me....
Old 12-22-2007, 10:26 PM

royal purple diff oil. what coul be wrong with the diff?? can it be fix??? and also the sound is not coming from the diff its coming from the middle like the propler/ the shaft
Old 12-23-2007, 12:29 AM

Received 53 Likes on 50 Posts

humming doesn't really say much...

doesn't sound like a problem...if it's only a slight humm...

perhaps a sound clip?

what is the weight of the royal purple diff oil...a hunch tells me its not correct...
Old 12-23-2007, 12:35 AM