S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

HOW TO PAINT OEM WHEELS

Old 06-14-2010, 10:09 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOW TO PAINT OEM WHEELS

This is my first time ever painting something or even doing a DIY so ill try to make it interesting and easy to read.

THINGS YOU WILL NEED:

Automotive paint (of your choosing color)
Automotive clear coat.
XX-I bought these at advanced auto parts for 6.69 a piece (4 paints) (2 clearcoats)-XX

sand paper

PATIENCE
OEM jack, tools( what i used, works well)
jackstand

newspaper
bucket o' water and a sponger
about three unused shirts u would throw out

1st step:
I put the jack right under the sidekirt, where there is a piece of steel made for the jack. I placed a thick shirt as i feel bad scratching up my baby.

Now as i took the wheel off i cleaned it with just plain water and a sponge to take off any brake dust. I let the sun dry it off as i painted the calipers red. (i used a small paint brush and high temp caliper paint, one coat did it and looked great.)

2nd step:

I took one of the old shirts i have never seen in my life and never worn(i think) and cleaned off the wheel off of any brake dust and water spots...
NOW I DID NOT DO ANY SANDING DOWN UNLESS I HAD SOME SCRATCHES ON MY WHEELS. I had one one wheel with massive scratches from the previous owner so i only did that one wheel. easy peasy.

3rd step:

FOLLOW DIRECTIONS BEHIND THE CAN,
really spray the wheel slowlly in 5min incraments between paint as it drys very quickly. Each coat should make the wheel darker and darker. The last coat, after its all blended dark, put one heavy coat to make it glossy. Once dry i did one light coat of clearcoat and the last one really heavy to make it shine.

BOOM BOOM SHINE =] no i did not take off my tires, yes a mistake but eh, i dont mind, the paint will come off the tires.