S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

How to clean MAP? (used search ;P)

Old 02-11-2010, 05:45 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default How to clean MAP? (used search ;P)

Before people go OMG SEARCH BUTTON please, this post is slightly different.

I'm new to the whole DIY thing, but am really looking forward to doing as much as I can by myself. I'm having some low rpm bog / occasional first gear stutter/shake. From doing research, I've heard that a common fix to a problem like this is the map whack / reset ecu. After reading a ton of things, I've read that using honda brake cleaner is the most efficient to clear carbon buildup.

here's my question; how should I go about cleaning it. Do I apply it with a say a qtip? Do i just run it straight through? And am I only cleaning the sensor itself? Sorry for the noob questions, I've tried to research a non-cliffnote version of actually cleaning the map, but a majority of my reads have simply been on the whack.

thanks

edit: while letting it dry, should I just let it air dry? with brake cleaner would it be best to air dry, or would using a heat source be safe? (I'm just not sure how brake cleaner reacts to heat).

Appreciate it guys, like I said I know it's a bit of a noob question. I just don't want to #### something up.
Old 02-11-2010, 06:51 AM

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

here's a link of how to remove the MAP sensor---you clean it by squirting brake cleaner (or carb cleaner) up inside the little black "tube" that sticks out the bottom and also squirt some into the "hole" on the throttle body where the MAP sensor goes into--this second part cleans the actual air passages that the MAP sensor "reads" the air thru.
I wouldn't use any heat--the cleaner evaporates very quickly when it's exposed to air--it should dry in a minute or two

https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?act=S...0#entry12038827