S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

HELP! miss shift to 2nd instead of 4th

Old 07-23-2006, 04:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! miss shift to 2nd instead of 4th

SH#T !!! i miss shifted to 2nd instead of 4th going over 70
my rpm went redline and bounced of the revlimiter once or twice then i quickly stepped on the clutch.
redline after 8000 since its an AP2
my car was still drivable, and started fine
it seems like like acceleration is LAGGING!!
what kind of damage do you think put on my car?
if i did do any damage, is it expensive to fix or are there engine mods i can do that can replace the problem?

hope my engine is still strong, only 7,850 miles
Old 07-23-2006, 04:06 PM

rebuild time!
Old 07-23-2006, 04:10 PM

if i had to, any suggestions?
Old 07-23-2006, 04:14 PM

I'm kinda new to reading in the under the hood section but my own problems with Honda brought me here. Check out this thread https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=403991
Old 07-23-2006, 05:05 PM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by S2KRAZZI,Jul 23 2006, 06:05 PM
SH#T !!! i miss shifted to 2nd instead of 4th going over 70
my rpm went redline and bounced of the revlimiter once or twice then i quickly stepped on the clutch.
If you were in 3rd and "going for the gusto", you would have been close to 78 mph (assuming you were redlining in preparation to upshift into 4th). Keep in mind that what you see on the speedometer is "lagged" behind what the vehicle is actually travelling at. Putting it into 2nd gear at that speed would have driven the engine up to as high as 10,800rpm.