S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Help me out here guys w/the skipping gears issue

Old 11-08-2004, 11:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help me out here guys w/the skipping gears issue

Let me start this out by saying that I'm not very technical nor am I extremely knowledgable about transmissions or engines. I understand the basics of it, but I certainly don't know enough to take one apart or have an in depth conversation or arguement. My knowledge ends around where I'm installing an intake or exhaust

Anyways, I was reading a thread about someone who asked if it was bad to skip gears when upshifting. I recall a thread here on s2ki about how you could damage your syncros by skipping gears when upshifting. Well, when I stated that ... I was told that it was complete BS and that anyone who said you could damage your syncros by skipping gears was making it up.

Was hoping someone here who was more knowledgable could back me up here ... The thread I'm referring to comes from here: http://cl.acurazine.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2190265

Maybe someone can help me out? Or maybe I'm completely wrong here! I'm just recalling what I read about mushrooming the syncros for 6th gear.

Sorry if this isn't the right forum to be posting into. I wasn't sure where this belonged.
Old 11-08-2004, 11:35 AM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

If you will do a search you will find that 'Woodwork" a Honda engineer has explained how skipping 5th and going to 6th forces the use of a synchro that has not been spun up to speed. It will damage the transmission.
Old 11-08-2004, 12:14 PM

Originally Posted by cdelena,Nov 8 2004, 04:35 PM
If you will do a search you will find that 'Woodwork" a Honda engineer has explained how skipping 5th and going to 6th forces the use of a synchro that has not been spun up to speed. It will damage the transmission.