S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Heatsoak

Old 03-13-2013, 04:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heatsoak

Can anyone give me some facts on why our cars are so prone to heat soak? What is an effective way to reduce it? I searched but havent found the reasons why...and as far as ways to help it was just the hondata intake manifold gasket. All responses are greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 03-13-2013, 06:23 PM

Received 358 Likes on 290 Posts

I'm no engineer, this is how I understand things.

To help reduce the power reduction, run high octane fuel to help reduce the ECU's tendency to retard the timing so much. By retarding the timing, the ecu prevents damaging detonation in the heat soak situations. I suppose you could try methanol injection or water injection to cool the intake charge and thereby reduce this effect. Effectively the water/methanol injection raises the octane rating- the resistance to detonation- of the fuel.

am i making sense?

darcy
Old 03-15-2013, 08:56 AM
Member (Premium)

Received 91 Likes on 82 Posts

The IM does get hot. It may affect the IAT sensor in that its giving the ecu inaccurate info on the real intake air temp. Maybe part of the reason later models had the sensor relocated. Make sure car is maintained/adjusted to limit any possibilities.
Old 03-15-2013, 01:18 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by starchland
The IM does get hot. It may affect the IAT sensor in that its giving the ecu inaccurate info on the real intake air temp. Maybe part of the reason later models had the sensor relocated. Make sure car is maintained/adjusted to limit any possibilities.
This is interesting. I had never heard of this before. Thanks for pointing this out.