S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Go from USDM to JDM dash

Old 12-13-2011, 06:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Go from USDM to JDM dash

I was wondering if any one has tried this before or knoes how hard it would be to, switch the dash from USDM to JDM, found a good deal on a JDM dash and i'd figure it would be something "fresh" not doing a full right hand drive convertion, just wanting to switch the dash,l i;d figure all i would have to do is extend the cable so that they reach the other side, i'm not very experienced with electric stuff, but one of my buddy's does wire tucks for S2000's so i'd figure while im getting my wire tuck and there were no major changes needeed other than extending wire i would throw in the JDM dash.

PLEASE IM LOOKING FOR INPUT REGARDING THIS PROCEDURE NOT YOUR OPINION OF HOW DUMB OR LAME,ECT THIS IS OR I AM, ITS MY CAR AND MONEY AND I REALLY COULD CARE LESS OF YOUR OPINION SO PLEAE DONT WASTE YOUR TIME NOR MINE, THANK YOU
Old 12-13-2011, 06:57 AM
Banned

What you're asking doesn't add up. You can't use a RHD dash (JDM, UKDM, EDM, etc) in a LHD car without converting to RHD. Do you want to hack up the glove box area and stuff a bare, ugly, steering column through there? Then what are you going to do with the actual steering column that is now in the passengers seat? You'll have a big ugly hole in the dash that looks through to the firewall.

If you can get the front clip and do a proper RHD conversion, go for it. I love RHD cars (maybe I'm a fan boy?!) but you can't just swap the dashes.
Old 12-13-2011, 07:01 AM

not like the dash, i kne wi used the wrong word, i meant like cluster stuff i'll post a pic so that it makes more sense
Old 12-13-2011, 07:01 AM