S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Flat Spot then Surge

Old 09-29-2004, 09:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow Flat Spot then Surge

Hi all,

Bear with me as this is actually my first post! I'm not sure if this the most appropriate place to post, but it is of technical nature.

i've been driving my s2k 03' for about 4 months now, got 9k on the clock. Everything has been running sweet up until about 3 weeks ago. Took the car on a 'relaxing' trip and covered a couple of hundred miles. Towards the end of the journey the car became abit juddery. Accelerating (not aggresively) through 2nd from 4'000 round to 7'000 revs is patchy. There doesn't seem to be a marked vtec cut in. I feel a flat spot around 5'000, it catches slightly at 6'000, dies off again for a bit then gives the VTEC feel from around 7'500 onwards.

The dealer suggested i check the oil! Yeah cheers for that, i might not be the most mechanically minded but i think i had that one covered. Anyway, it started to stall in traffic, sometimes not restarting for a while, so i took it back to the dealers. Apparently nothing wrong; re-set the ECU, tightend something up on the battery.

They suggested that it might be the fuel. I always use Super Unleaded (UK) Octane level at least 97. I run Optimax (98) once in a while. They say the fuel from the supermarket would be of lesser quality and may cause this symtom. I've since run nearly 3 tanks of Optimax through and the haphazard accleleration characteristic remains.

I think power output may be down as well, i sort of had a thing with a Fiat Coupe. I can only assume it was a 20v Turbo (220bhp), as it pulled away while i was flat out pushing hard through 2nd into 3rd. Surely i should be looking to at least stay with it or even pull away??

Can this be purely fuel related? I just have the feeling that something isn't right.