S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

F20C specs

Old 06-12-2007, 09:52 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default F20C specs

Alright, first off... I am new to the F20C motor and marketplace, but am very adept inside an engine (I am personally a SBC/LT1/LS1 guy). I am doing this (and posting) for a friend. I have a 95 Firehawk with a 383 putting 430 rwhp with a motor I built.

At first glance, this motor is VERY frustrating because I cannot find any information whatsoever about specifics... which is why I am posting here. The worst part is any site that sells parts doesnt list specifics. It seems like they just sell parts as stages, but give absolutely no info besides "xxx product works with xxx product" to keep the consumer ignorant (because we all know ignorant consumers are the highest payers).

If you can point me in the right directions or give me some detailed specs I would appreciate it.

Some specs/questions I am trying to find, but havent had much luck...

Valve stem diameter
Max valve size (without shrouding)
Spring install height
Spring diameter, ID/OD (and possible oversize without cutting for seats)
Spring pressure limits (how high can you safely go on seat/open pressures)
Allowable overbore/hone
Stroke clearance
Deck height
Rod journal size
Pin size
Rod width (at both ends)
Tuning (do you need a new PCM or can you flash the new one?)
Crank... what are the journal sizes and can you use cranks from any other motor?

Pistons: what kind of pistons/rings/coatings can you (or have to) use on a seasoned block with a fresh hone (and is there a special type of hone for this block?)

TQ specs: Havent found any yet

Cams: Who makes custom cams? I dont want to buy some shelf cam. We are getting portwork, so I want a cam to work with our head and I dont want some stage 2/3/78 cams. Stages are for ignorant consumers.