S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

F20C powered AE86

Old 09-15-2015, 06:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F20C powered AE86

Hello everyone,

My name is Nicholas, I am from South Florida, and I am the owner of a 1985 Toyota Corolla GTS Coupe also known as an AE86.

I am running a 2003 S2000 F20C1 Engine and 6-Speed Manual Transmission. I have been running this setup for less than 6 months and developed a misfire under normal driving conditions.

The S2000 shop, I purchased the engine from and installed it for me, diagnosed it as compression loss from the cylinder head and quoted me $1200 plus parts to repair.

I decided to personally inspected the cylinder head, and noticed sunken valve keepers in multiple cylinders. Which is a usually sign of cracked valve retainers, a well known issue with AP1 engines. Under further inspection, I confirmed cracked retainers in multiple cylinders.

From my research I understand AP1 retainers do not crack simply because of constant 9000rpm or even bouncing off the rev limiter. AP1 retainers crack because of an over rev from a mis-shift situation due to user error, such as 9000rpm in 3rd gear and accidentally engaging 2nd gear instead of 4th gear for example.

I have personally never had a mis-shift situation. According to Billman cracked retainers can go up to 30,000 miles undetected and I have owned this motor for less than 5000 miles, which means I was sold a engine that already had valve retainer damage due to negligence from the previous owner.

Moving forward I purchased a resurfaced cylinder head with upgraded AP2 springs, retainers, and keepers. Also used Ferrea bronze valve guides, and valve seals. Along with replacing a couple valves.

When I removed my original cylinder head with damaged internals, I noticed scored cylinder walls in multiple cylinders.

From my research I understand scored cylinder walls are from poor Lubrication, Cooling, and also Detonation.