S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Engineering question

Old 11-21-2001, 10:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engineering question

many of you know where i used to work, and the engineers i used to work with. i learned a lot about manufacturing, materials, fabrication, and design from them (eventhough my background is pure IT). when i asked every single one of them about design (when it comes to things like the chassis braces, strut bars, etc.), every single one of them said use hollow material when possible as opposed to solid pieces. supposedly you have more (engineers help me out here please) strength with a tube than with a solid bar stock in those types of applications - i don't quite remember the argument behind that. can anyone explain? RT? Chris? UL?
Old 11-21-2001, 10:28 AM
Fed

Damnit, I know I should have listened more in my Dynamics and Materials classes!!!!!!
Old 11-21-2001, 11:05 AM

Originally posted by mingster
many of you know where i used to work, and the engineers i used to work with. i learned a lot about manufacturing, materials, fabrication, and design from them (eventhough my background is pure IT). when i asked every single one of them about design (when it comes to things like the chassis braces, strut bars, etc.), every single one of them said use hollow material when possible as opposed to solid pieces. supposedly you have more (engineers help me out here please) strength with a tube than with a solid bar stock in those types of applications - i don't quite remember the argument behind that. can anyone explain? RT? Chris? UL?
Actually, a hollow tube isn't stronger, but it is considerably lighter for nearly equivalent strength.