S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Do myself compression test?

Old 11-16-2011, 09:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do myself compression test?

Should I do a compression test myself? I've never done one and fiddling with the engine i'm kinda hesitant to. Its not that i'm not good with tools, its just i've never had the liberty to take apart any parts of an engine to understand how everything works.
Old 11-16-2011, 10:25 PM

It's fairly easy. All it involves is taking out the ignition coils and the spark plugs. Just be sure to not cross-thread any of the spark plugs when you screw them back in though. Why do you think you need a compression test?
Old 11-17-2011, 08:45 AM

I like to have someone crank it over while I read the gauge, but it's a two person job max. Make sure you unplug the fuel pump relay.
Old 11-17-2011, 08:46 AM
Banned

A compression test is incredibly easy. Here's some pointers based on my experience. Make sure you pull the fuse for the EFI system so you're not washing the cylinders down with fuel. If you get a low reading, pour a cap full of oil in that cylinder and retest. If the reading goes up, it's likely your rings. If it stays low, it's likely the valves. A leak down test will tell you for sure. Keep notes of everything, don't rely on memory.

Originally Posted by OVER 9000!
It's fairly easy. All it involves is taking out the ignition coils and the spark plugs. Just be sure to not cross-thread any of the spark plugs when you screw them back in though. Why do you think you need a compression test?

Always start bolts, including spark plugs, by hand. I actually like to spin them backwards which helps them find the threads, then screw them in. I've never cross-threaded anything in my 10 yrs working on cars, and that includes pretty much anything you can do to a car besides painting and building a bottom end, although I've done head swaps.
Old 11-17-2011, 11:45 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts