S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

condenser question

Old 04-18-2012, 04:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default condenser question

Can anyone tell me if the line coming out of the condenser going into the receiver drier be cold,warm,hot when the AC is running ?

Here's a picture of the line

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Old 04-18-2012, 04:37 PM

I don't have my S2000 yet, but I deal with refrigerant for a living. Leaving the condenser, the smaller high pressure line (liquid) should be warm to the touch. The larger low pressure line leaving the evaporator (coil in the dash) should be cold going to the compressor, from the compressor the line should be hot... Then going to the condenser. Pretty sure the tank is just a drier (filter) tied into the liquid line. It should be warm/ambient going in and leaving. If its cold leaving the drier then the drier would have to be replaced.
Old 04-18-2012, 04:55 PM

Originally Posted by McFridgeGuy
I don't have my S2000 yet, but I deal with refrigerant for a living. Leaving the condenser, the smaller high pressure line (liquid) should be warm to the touch. The larger low pressure line leaving the evaporator (coil in the dash) should be cold going to the compressor, from the compressor the line should be hot... Then going to the condenser. Pretty sure the tank is just a drier (filter) tied into the liquid line. It should be warm/ambient going in and leaving. If its cold leaving the drier then the drier would have to be replaced.