S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Clutch/Shifter Issues

Old 11-01-2010, 04:32 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Clutch/Shifter Issues

Hey all, I am having a small amount of trouble with my s2k. I have been driving the car for 2 years and this isnt how it has ever acted, so dont say its normal.

First, my clutch has been dis-engaging alot harder than normal lately. When shifting to any of the gears, when letting off it seems like it has to grab hard to get going. I even let off really slow and ride the clutch a little bit to see if it makes a difference, it made none. Also after driving on the highway for about 60 miles the clutch feels mushy, and dis-engages even harder.

Second, the last few weeks my shifter has been getting really notchy. I know the normal notchy feel, and it has gotten alot worse. It seem like it takes a little more force to get it into the gears now. Could this also be caused by my clutch?

I did a fluid change a couple months ago, bled it, and did everything like you are suppost to. It was all fine until a couple weeks ago. My fluid is always topped off, so it wont be that. I also checked more than once for any signs of leaks on the master and slave cylinder, couldnt find anything.

I did a search and didnt find anything really helpful. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Old 11-02-2010, 12:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

When clutches go out, in my experience, the disc and both bearings tend to take a dump at the same time. It is not unusual to find one of the springs is missing from the disc, or that all your grease points are dry. Notchy shifting is definitely a sign you need a new clutch. As for the hard disengagement, I don't really understand the problem. Are you saying that you need to tug the shifter out of gear, or that when you press the clutch, you feel a clunk?
Old 11-02-2010, 12:37 PM

^
Old 11-02-2010, 02:06 PM

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts

It's normal.

Serious: