S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Clutch has way too much freeplay

Old 09-11-2024, 07:51 AM

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Clutch has way too much freeplay

I've replaced the clutch fluid and bled it but I think it might be too late for my master cylinder. It's been leaking pretty fast lately. I'm still kinda new to the S2K and it's problems so I only just got around to changing the fluid. I have about 1/2 the pedal's travel distance of freeplay. I can still get into gear and shift but there is grinding sometimes. Sometimes shifting is smooth as can be and other times it grinds and feels awful.

I tried adjusting the freeplay, but after I loosened the nut I really wasn't able to spin the rod at all, it was basically stuck. Looking at my slave cylinder it seems to be leaking.

Here's a picture. I'm looking for opinions, replace the master cylinder? Repair it? Where do I find the cylinder/rebuild kit? Thanks.

Old 09-11-2024, 08:17 AM

Received 1,376 Likes on 1,028 Posts

You probably still have air in the system.

Try just pumping the pedal a million times to see if the air works its way out and freeplay returns closer to normal.

If not, try a 1 man bleed.

Your MC does not appear to be leaking at the pedal. Is the fluid leaking somewhere else?

What kind of clutch is in the car?
The following users liked this post:
windhund116 (09-11-2024)
Old 09-11-2024, 08:29 AM

Received 8 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by B serious
You probably still have air in the system.

Try just pumping the pedal a million times to see if the air works its way out and freeplay returns closer to normal.

If not, try a 1 man bleed.

Your MC does not appear to be leaking at the pedal. Is the fluid leaking somewhere else?

What kind of clutch is in the car?
I did indeed pump the clutch a million times. I'll try pukping it again for like 15 minutes to be sure. What do you mean by 1 man bleed?