S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

clutch adjustment

Old 08-23-2004, 10:22 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default clutch adjustment

Can the clutch be adjusted on the S2000? The service advisor at one of the Dealers is telling me that the S2000 has a hydraulic clutch therefor it cannot be adjusted. My clutch pedal feels kinda loose.

When I press in the pedal it doesn't feel stiff. I had the diff, tranny and clutch fluid changed. The car shifts really smoothly
Old 08-23-2004, 11:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i do not know how much the clutch can REALLY be adjusted for tightness etc but i think that the clutch travel can be adjusted like the engagment point or something. MAybe it could be tightened up so it doesnt feel so look. Just go to dealer and ask them to do someting about it if they can.
the clutch can be adjusted but only to a degree. but im not an expert im just telling you stuff i read on this site
Old 08-23-2004, 12:04 PM

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

It is a hydraulic unit, but the pedal can be adjusted and it can make a notable difference in engagement.
Old 08-23-2004, 12:09 PM

Originally Posted by cdelena,Aug 23 2004, 12:04 PM
It is a hydraulic unit, but the pedal can be adjusted and it can make a notable difference in engagement.
That's exactly what I was looking for. When i called the dealer, i should have asked how much they charge to "adjust the clutch pedal".

I learned something new today. I need to get my clutch pedal adjusted. Anyhow, they quoted me $95.00 dollars to adjust the clutch pedal. Is that reasonable? I wonder how long it takes.

Old 08-23-2004, 12:28 PM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Adjusting the pedal will only adjust the point at which the clutch begins to engage. If this is what you want, then why not do it yourself?