S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

clutch ?

Old 12-10-2010, 09:35 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default clutch ?

i have a low mileage oem clutch that has aprox 10,000 miles on it....I occasionally slam gears HARD and i am a better driver than most so like i really bang those gears like tsuchiya HAHA anyhow it slips a bit, is this just normal for an oem clutch ??
Old 12-11-2010, 08:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Put it in 6th, floor it, if the clutch slips then its going out. If it holds and revs normal then your fine. OEM wasn't meant for crazy launches and burning it while switching gears quick. It was meant to be softer and last a long time. Try not to burn it too much on the launch and wait for revs to drop a little before you release the clutch after shifting to the next gear. The smoother you shift the less damage your doing to your transmission.
Old 12-11-2010, 08:22 AM

I would say it is normal. I am stock and used to get slip on the 1-2 if I was too aggressive, yet no slip at any other time. It was usually the result of being a tick early on the gas and late releasing the clutch. I have since backed off on hammering the car and do not feel any slower for it.
Old 12-11-2010, 09:13 AM

Received 215 Likes on 148 Posts

I always thought good drivers didn't "slam" gears?

10k mi on a clutch and slipping? It sounds like you abuse the clutch, so maybe its a result of your driving. Are you doing this with street use?
Old 12-11-2010, 11:18 AM
Banned

Good drivers never mention how good they are but Great drivers are allowed to

It sounds like you are over heating the clutch, maybe by not releasing the accelerator while up-shifting at high rpm (Speed-shifting, as some call it). More heat, less friction, similar to brake fade, at least on a OEM disk.

But having said that, if your such a good driver you should know that already and not post that question
Old 12-11-2010, 03:10 PM