S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Clacking noise after oil change

Old 10-19-2013, 11:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clacking noise after oil change

I just switched my oil from castrol high mileage 10w30 to 10w40, and when I started my car there was this clacking/rattling noise. It's most apparent on cold start up, after it warms it goes away but i can still hear it slightly. My car is an 03 with 96k on it. I'm getting worried about driving it.

I've got some vids but the quality isn't great, all I have is my phone.

This is after a cold start, the noise is most noticeable at 26secs, after I rev it up you can hear it slightly when it drop back to idle.
http://youtu.be/H2X34-1DtIw

This is after i went for a 10-15min drive, it sounds more or less normal, I think
http://youtu.be/wzZCcX2DGlA
Old 10-19-2013, 03:05 PM

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm no expert here, but from what I've deduced after lurking for a while, I'm guessing it's the Timing Chain Tensioner.
Old 10-19-2013, 06:35 PM

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Yeah, thought I heard some TCT noise in there.
Old 10-20-2013, 05:04 AM

Tensioner pulley on the drive belt.
Get a mech scope to verify. Place the end of the scope on the nut holding the pulley on and repeat you throttle blip.
You could momentarily run without the drivebelt to pinpoint that region, but i'm almost positive it's your pulley, so I'd just start there first.

You can buy that pulley separate from the tensioner and save some money. Also consider replacing your drive belt if its cracked, split or worn in any manner.
Old 10-20-2013, 02:20 PM

Thanks a lot for the replies guys. I went ahead and sent a message to Billman for one of his TCTs. I'll go ahead and buy a mech scope to check out the tensioner pulley. Now if it is the tensioner pulley, would I have to buy just the pulley, or only the tensioner?