S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

broken torque wrench and overtorqued oil drain bolt...

Old 05-10-2003, 11:04 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default broken torque wrench and overtorqued oil drain bolt...

changed the oil last night with two buddies of mine, who were doing oil changes on their cars at the same time - an '01 330ci and an '01.5 s4. everything seemed fine until i went to put the drain bolt back on. i used a torque wrench which was not mine, that i have never used before. it seemed to me that the drain bolt was turning in MUCH further than i'd have expected, and the torque wrench was not slipping or clicking as they usually do once they reach torque.

i stopped after just a bit of this, maybe a half turn past where i would have stopped if i was not using a torque wrench. i didn't think much of it until about 10 minutes later when my friend asked me to come look at the drain bolt on his 330... he claimed it just kept spinning around and it wasn't the wrench slipping, it was the bolt spinning.

he had broken the head of the bolt off. at this point, we got curious about the torque wrench. i set it to 5 lb-ft and tried it on a lug nut. it was taking all the torque we could put into it, easily 50-75 lb-ft. tried a couple settings, backed it out and back in, and NO limiting action whatsoever.

so now i am paranoid. my drain bolt it certainly not broken, and there's no leaking oil, but i MUST have overtorqued it by quite a bit, simply because it's not the kind of bolt that goes around for many (any) turns after it bottoms out on the washer.

any advise? just leave it? have the dealer pull it out and check the oil pan? pull it and replace the bolt only?
Old 05-10-2003, 05:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

did u have a crush washer?
Old 05-10-2003, 06:33 PM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts