S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Brake pads

Old 05-22-2013, 06:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake pads

Can some one really help me find a dyi brake pads change they have many different opinions about leaving the brake fluid cap open and the brake bleeder valve I just need help with pics
Old 05-22-2013, 08:13 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by S2KBert
Can some one really help me find a dyi brake pads change they have many different opinions about leaving the brake fluid cap open and the brake bleeder valve I just need help with pics
I am a certified tech in brakes among many other things. Perhaps I can shed some light for you.

Changing the brake pads is a very simple process as long as you pay attention. There is no need to touch the bleeder valves OR take the cap of the master cylinder off. The cap is vented so air pressure and excess fluid can escape.

Remove the two bolts holding on the caliper. They are 14mm if i remember correctly. These are also known as the slide pins. You will later need to wipe these two pins clean and apply new grease.

Next remove the two bolts holding on the bracket in which your brake pads rest. They are 18mm or 19mm bolts. DO NOT STOP HERE AND ONLY PUT NEW BRAKE PADS ON.

You will need to remove the rotor and have the surfaced machine for a new, smooth and parallel surface. This is IMPERATIVE to the life of the brake pads as well as ensuring no squeaking or vibrations.

In order to remove the rotors you will need to remove the philips head screws holding them on at the hub. These can be a bit tricky your first time but it can be done with the right tool and approach. You NEED a the correct size philips head screw driver WITH a striking cap. What this means is the metal striking cap is directly connected to the metal shaft. You will use this tool on these screws while: hitting with a hammer firmly and twisting counter clockwise the entire time.