S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Bogging, hesitating, stalling, no power

Old 05-29-2008, 07:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bogging, hesitating, stalling, no power

Please add comments to the original thread:
https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=600458

Message from post:

Some of you know me others don't. I was an S2000 pilot for awhile. Have driven other cars and now I own the soul of an S2000. It sits in a Lotus 7 clone with total weight of 1400lbs. You would think it would be sick fast but engine issues are keeping my eyes for peeling off of my head. Any local engine experts?

Here's the info:
New plugs and MAP sensor
Honda S2000 ECU
Fuel is getting to the engine
Not getting fuel back into the return line on the tank
donor car 2002 w/ 48K miles
aftermarket gauges and speedo (still having speedo issues)

Engine starts and idles w/o issues
Under light acceleration engine will pull fine sometimes bucks
Will slowly climb to 9K seems to pull better at 7K, not sure if VTEC is kicking in. Been awhile since I drove an S2000.
On highway engine will lose power and slowly drop, blipping throttle does not help, most allow it to idle down before applying power.

Could lack of return fuel indicate not enough fuel? If so why does it seem to pull stronger in the upper RPMs?

Would non-functioning speedo impact ECU? Limp mode? What is limp mode and what does it limit?

Thanks
Old 05-29-2008, 10:19 AM
Former Moderator

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You're using the stock ecu, correct?

Fuel pump is sufficient to feed the injectors? No issue with the fuel filter? Fuel pressure at the fuel rail within specs?

No issues with the exhaust, ie no restrictions?

Oil pressure ok?

Valves adjusted? Compression ok?