S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

blown S2000 motor

Old 04-07-2002, 12:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default blown S2000 motor

hey guys what up, i am new to this post so i dont really know how things work but i have an urgent issue that i need help with.
I have a 2001 spa yellow S2000 that as of last saturday has a blown motor, it has a bent valve to be exact and a piece of metal fell into the main block, my problem is that my car has 17000 miles on it, not a single aftermarket part and honda refuses to honor their warranty and they are telling me it will cost me 11000 for a new motor, now i need to ask you guys what do you think i should do. Should i take them to court? should i not waste my time and just buy a brand new motor? Should i buy a spoon motor (cheaper) and much faster? and from where? who should do the install( i live in VA)? now i have already contacted honda of america who said they will get back to me in a couple of days but i dont think they will be giving me good news, 11000 is a lot of money especially considering i only have 17000 miles on the car and i am only 19 yrs old paying for the car myself and the insurance too. I would really appreciate if someone would get back to me ASAP, especially if someone has had an issue with a blown motor on an S2000 before, i am really desperate and thank you guys in advance for the help.
Old 04-07-2002, 12:53 PM
jzr

I've yet to see Honda replace a motor due to overrev on a missed shift, which I'm guessing was the cause of your engine failure. If the motor blew and it's not your fault, then you do have a case and should pursue it until they replace the motor for you.

Otherwise you might try to get it covered through the comprehensive part of your insurance. I've heard of this being done, though expect your premiums to rise.

Good luck dude!

-Jason
Old 04-07-2002, 12:56 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

my guess is a bent valve from a mis-shift, right?