S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Bleeding brake system

Old 11-30-2005, 01:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bleeding brake system

My car will be three years old in February, it's really a "Garage Queen" with only 16,000 miles and kept indoors all the time. Thus far I have done all the maintenance required, (something kind of new to me) but now the time has come to change brake and clutch fluid, something I have never done before.
I saw the excellent post by Xviper on clutch fluid and feel confident about that one, but what about brake bleeding? (could not find any specifics).
Opinions about the "power bleeder" sold on this site? Other options and tips will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Daniel
Old 11-30-2005, 01:35 PM

check these out
https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=312719
https://www.s2ki.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=233948
Old 11-30-2005, 03:07 PM

Thanks for the links dozen5.
Questions:
1) Once you have the parts ready, car on stands and wheels off, how long does this job take?
2) Can it be done by one person with the power bleeder thing?
3) The power bleeder kit has everything you need to do the job or is there anything else needed (besides the fluid itself and tools).
4) DOT 3 or 4, which is more suitable for regular street use, longevity?
5) I noticed the "Bleeding order" Left front, right front, right rear, etc. What happens if you don't follow this sequence?
6) On the clutch fluid thread by Xviper, he sucked out the fluid with a syringe first and flushed the chamber with fresh fluid a few times, then proceeded with flushing the system. Is this the same for the brake system?
Thanks everyone.
Daniel
Old 11-30-2005, 03:18 PM

Originally Posted by dangarza,Nov 30 2005, 02:25 PM