S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

Best way to drive to save the clutch

Old 07-06-2014, 09:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best way to drive to save the clutch

Hey everyone. So here's the story, I'm basically new to driving a standard car. (Had the car for about 4 months, and only put about 130mi on it so far) I bought the car with a brand new clutch

Basically i want to know if the way I'm driving is going to wreck my clutch over time. If so what are better ways??

Here's how i drive

-When starting out in gear, i rev the engine lightly to about 2000rpms, release the clutch, feel it grab, and hold it for about 1-2 seconds, and release.

-When shifting through the gears, i release my foot off the gas, clutch in (to the floor), select the gear i want, clutch out, while applying a very little amount of gas. NOTE: sometimes the car is abit jerky

Stoplights: come to stop light with the car in gear. If i know i will have to fully stop i push the clutch in, neutral, clutch out. Then when i see the light start to change on the other side, clutch in, select gear and go.

Any advice is welcome, i just want my clutch to last a long time and not hurt my baby, thanks everyone!

P.S i never ground a gear, or burned the clutch, so I'm happy about that. I'd be ready to kill myself if either happened haha

I have stalled the car quite a bit though :/ makes me sad each time it happens ( it mostly happens when getting in the garage where you have to drive the car REALLY slow and kind of ride the clutch or youll go to fast and hit something or the wall, i have a small garage)
Old 07-06-2014, 10:09 AM

Received 3,799 Likes on 2,677 Posts