S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

adjusted my clutch and....

Old 11-18-2011, 02:55 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default adjusted my clutch and....

Had a local mechanic adjust my clutch to try to stop this damn issue I’m having with the drive shaft not stopping fully when I depress the clutch, but it didn’t help. So where should I start next?

What’s going on is I have noticed when I shift the car I sometimes feel a lurch and a little thump from the rear. It’s because when I depress the clutch it’s not putting enough pressure on the plate ( sorry im not a mechanic ). Anyway what should I do next? Also the clutch adjustment is really low, like almost off the floor but I kinda like it. OK to keep it that way??
Old 11-19-2011, 01:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

nope should be alot higher i would bleed the line.. if its not air in the line then its your CMC or slave. and if its not thos.... its your pressure plate.. i would start with the easy and rule thos out
Old 11-19-2011, 06:11 AM

OK..Ill adjust it back up a bit...and I looked at the clutch fluid in the reservoir and it looks pretty dark. Guess it’s time for a flush...
Old 11-20-2011, 07:12 AM

Received 91 Likes on 82 Posts

make sure you still have free play in the pedal. can you elaborate on the original issue?
Old 11-21-2011, 11:04 AM

drive shaft wont fully stop spinning when i push the clutch all the way in, so when i try to put the car in gear there is a thump and sometimes a slight lurch. Going to have the clutch fluid replaced tomorrow, it looks black and i bet itsnever been done.
Old 11-21-2011, 09:44 PM

Received 49 Likes on 48 Posts

Originally Posted by Speakeasy2009
drive shaft wont fully stop spinning when i push the clutch all the way in, so when i try to put the car in gear there is a thump and sometimes a slight lurch. Going to have the clutch fluid replaced tomorrow, it looks black and i bet itsnever been done.