S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

AC Compressor Explosion...

Old 04-01-2006, 09:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AC Compressor Explosion...

So, I was driving to get lunch about a mile from my place... I started to slow down so I can make a turn into Joe's Deli and I hear a thud and I see white smoke... At this point I am think this cant be my car I must have drove into this smoke... As I continue to check my car I observe that my AC is blowing hot ass air... It is 80+ outside so I had it on high.. I proceed to check my car I am not an expert so I check to see if I have oil, coolant ect.. I then check my hoses to see if any blew.. I find that my hose didn't blow, but I think the whole aluminum connection of one of my compressor hoses has blown off... I didn't even know this was possible... I think it is the compressor directly under the alternator.. Is this going to be covered by my certified used car warranty??? Am I correct about it being the compressor?? I have pics, but don't know how to post them since my membership expired...
Old 04-01-2006, 09:50 AM

That's the compressor. If the warranty's still valid, it should be covered. Definitely keep the A/C off until you have it looked at. The oil from the compressor is carried around with the coolant in the system (which you vented all over the street). If you run it without oil, you'll overheat the compressor and potentially cause it to cease ($$$). Chances are that a bolt holding the fitting onto the compressor came loose causing the line to blow off.. hopefully it just needs reattaching and recharging. Has the A/C been serviced in the past?
Old 04-01-2006, 01:16 PM