S2000 Under The Hood S2000 Technical and Mechanical discussions.

2000 AP1 Rebuild Project - Advice?

Old 04-22-2014, 09:50 PM
BBT

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2000 AP1 Rebuild Project - Advice?

Hey everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster

Anyway, I'm looking for some advice on rebuilding my S2k. I have a '00 in NFR with ~124k on it that I purchased around six years ago - thing is she is starting to show some wear. Last year I purchased a BRZ and have been loving it, but it's no replacement for the S... We have driven across the country twice, once through Yellowstone and I have a huge sentimental attachment to her.

So, I'm thinking about doing a complete refresh. Top to bottom. She has a dent in the driver's side door from a parking lot hit-and-run and I'm relatively sure something is up with the #4 cylinder. (Replaced the plugs 2k ago and just from an eyeball inspection it seems that there is a significant amount of carbon buildup).

I am by no means a mechanic - my only rebuild experience comes from helping a friend rebuild his Miata and maintenance on karts as a kid. However, I enjoy the experience and have plenty of expert help nearby if I need it.

She's been sitting in the garage gathering dust for the last two months since I have had to deal with family issues, but I think it's about time for some TLC.

So here is some history and some issues I've noticed - any advice is greatly appreciated

Maint. Notes:
- Purchased her @ ~80,000. Full fluid swap. Installed K&N air filter which has been maintained
- Full Inspection at 95,000, leakdown test passed, full fluid flush
- I have personally changed the oil every 3k miles with full synthetic/Mobil 1 filters
- Minor accident @ 110,000 low speed rear-end collision with no frame damage just had to replace a cracked rear bumper
- I have replaced the soft top twice, and she needs a new one (Arizona is hell on them)
- Who knows how many rear tire replacements!

Concerns: