S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

What would you do? (Veilside Hood) LONG

Old 11-20-2000, 07:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I recently purchased a VeilSide Hood to go with my DB Cavalleresco Body Kit (That made me happy) Upon receipt there were no visual imperfections in the fiberglass. I did find a lump in on of the corners, but I disregarded it since I know it needed to be sanded and painted by the Bodyshop (My stupid mistake).

Since I am not an expert, I did not know what would be involved. Upon the bodyshops review, they pointed out several other imperfections. They had me run my hand down and over the entire hood. There were waves in the hood, several other lumps, the hook on the hood wouldn't mate with the lock and needed to be realigned, The scoops had wire mesh the had become disludged from the fiberglass, and the sprayer holes weren't up to American specs and needed to be drilled bigger and craved to shape (I knew about the last one).

Long story short, between fixing the hook on the hood (realignment), sanding and blocking out the waves in the hood, making the Jap. spec. sprayer holes bigger, and then finally painting, spraying and blending the color on the hood, A hood that cost me $886 with shipping, will cost me slightly over a $1000 extra dollars to install

What would you do....??? I can't return it at this point because the BodyShop already started the work. The BodyShop is charging me 1.0 man hours to fix the alignment problem, 3.0 hours to sand and blockout the waves in the hood and an additional 1.0 hours to fix the sprayer holes and the wire mesh. That alone is 5 hours at $50.00 per hour!