S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

What is a VAFC 2?

Old 10-16-2003, 01:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is a VAFC 2?

Sorry I am new to this, but what is a VAFC 2?

I saw it in another thread but it didnt say what it was. I am assuming it's an engine management tool, but what does it do?
Old 10-16-2003, 02:47 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It allows you controll the air/fuel ratio. I had one and got some good gains, but it can be a pain, if your not near a good tuner and expensive ( cost me 200 bucks to tune) Also it destoys the warrenty.
Old 10-16-2003, 02:53 PM

[size=1][b]Also it destoys the warrenty.
That just steered me away from that idea

Thanks for the info
Old 10-16-2003, 02:57 PM

Nothing can void your warranty unless that part is proven to cause the problem. I wish people would stop saying "this and that voids your warranty"

The VAFC-2 is the newest version with i-VTEC support. A normal VAFC is perfectly fine for the S2000.
Old 10-16-2003, 04:54 PM

Koala,
This is not a flame, but I am wondering what Honda dealer you work with. Myself and others have caught a boat load of crap for things as simple as a CAI. What you're saying is true, BUT most dealers will use ANY excuse to void the warrenty. If you have a VAFC and you have a problem with your tranny, then you might get away with it. ANY engine problem, and they'll blame the VAFC or better yet, they see it, think you rag the hell out of the car, and then blame "overrev". Look at Airsport and what he's gone through...... I had a VAFC, so I am speaking from personal experience as well reading several threads on the subject.
Another thing to consider RR is that everytime you mod the car i.e. add a CAI, etc you need to re-tune.
Old 10-16-2003, 05:16 PM

If you have issues with your dealer what you have to do is print off a copy of the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act and present it to them. It outlines in great detail how warranty works!