S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

What information can dealers get from Honda on ordered S2000?

Old 09-24-2003, 12:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What information can dealers get from Honda on ordered S2000?

First, does anyone know the length of time it takes Honda to build a new S2000? I was told by one dealer 2-3 months and about 24 days by another dealer (10-12 days build time, 10-12 days for delivery).

Second, what information can dealers get regarding the status of an ordered S2000? Specifically, how accurately do they know the estimated date of delivery.
Old 09-24-2003, 01:30 PM

I'm an Industrial Engineer and have been asked this question about products a few times. It is hard to answer without first defining what exactly you mean by "build". That's why you are probably going to get a different answer every time, especially from car salesmen who probably just make it up to begin with. By "build" do you mean:
1) The time from when the car is completed back until the point in time when the oldest part on that car was manufactured? Probably not, because that would likely make the build time several years if you include small parts.
2) The time from which they start to manufacture the major subassemblies like the engine until the car is completed. The time for building the subassemblies is likely greater than the time for final assembly.
3) The time from when a new VIN is created until it rolls out of the final assembly plant? This is probably what you mean. I don't know exactly what the answer is, but it's probably shorter than you would imagine, like a day or two. I can guarantee you that it takes longer to ship here than the entire final assembly takes. Some people from this board visited the final assembly plant a while back. They can probably give you a more definite number. But remember that whatever number you are given really doesn't tell the whole story. I glad I could clear things up.