S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Vented hood vs. a "cold-air" hood

Old 06-28-2001, 01:27 PM

Received 70 Likes on 49 Posts
Default Vented hood vs. a "cold-air" hood

Can we get a discussion going on the advantages and disadvantages of a vented hood vs. a hood that is made for cold air induction?

Thanks in advance
Old 06-28-2001, 02:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am an engineer, but not a mechanical engineer, so keep your grain of salt ready...

It seems obvious to me that it is better to
1) pull ambient temperature air directly into the intake (using the hood scoop) than
2) use a vented hood to increase air flow through the engine area to lower engine area temperatures to reduce the intake temperature.

In case 1), if the intake draws air directly from the hood scoop, you are guaranteed to draw air that is near ambient. In case 2), you are hoping to cool down the engine area, but you will never reach ambient temperatures. For minimum IAT, case 1) is the better solution.

It also seems obvious that 1) will be a problem when it is raining; in AZ, I could get around this using a manual open/close of the hood scoop. I am sure that those of you in FL, TX, etc. need a better solution.
Old 06-28-2001, 03:25 PM

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Agree with the above except that I would be surprised if 1) would be a problem anywhere if it was designed right. The amount of water you would get driving in the rain shouldn't be a problem, and if the cool air scoop feeds into the standard air box it will be trapped in the first compartment anyway. So long as when the car is standing no water drains into the scoop you should be ok.

And one thing we don't seem to be considering is 1) + 2). Surely 1) gets cooler air to the intake, and 2) allows the engine and ancillaries to cool better.
Old 06-28-2001, 03:33 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts