S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Soft/hard top question

Old 04-04-2011, 01:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Soft/hard top question

Hi everyone! So as a short introduction, I'm a college student who goes to school in SD, but I go back to LA every weekend. As you can imagine, the drive is pretty awful, and I've been trying to figure out a way to reduce the wind noise or just interior noise in general. I realize that the S2000 isn't meant for highway driving, but unfortunately there's no way for me to own another car, and driving two hours on the freeway twice a week with the top down is just a recipe for going deaf.

I already saw that people have tried adding some washers to the thing you latch on to, and that slightly reduced the noise for a day. I bought the car used, and I think the problem is that the soft top latches need to be replaced, but from what I can tell that's already like $200, and I really don't know how much it will decrease the noise. That's why I've come to you guys for advice! How loud is it supposed to be exactly? I know it's a convertible so it's definitely not going to be quiet, but is it possible to hold a conversation without shouting at each other if you're going say 80mph? Right now I can't even hear myself talk, and I can only barely hear myself think.