S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

S2K Track Behavior

Old 10-03-2008, 01:48 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S2K Track Behavior

Hi, James here, posting up with a question on how YOU go about handling your S2000 at a track day, or auto cross. (OR race, for you pro's and amatures alike).

I was talking with a friend about different ways to go about driving with a rear wheel drive car, vs. a front wheel drive car. It wasn't exactly about the S2k, it was more about the Z06. He felt the Corvette Z06 was better for momentum around a track when cornering, rather than a "point and shoot" car. -Feel free to argue this, because I'm no expert, thats just what I gathered from the discussion. = /

This brought me to think about how my soon-to-be s2k will handle when I take it to its first track day. Here are my questions for you folks who have taken it to the track fro school, races, and fun.
These questions are with a road track in mind, like mid-ohio for example.

1. Is the S2k a car I'd want to drive with "momentum" in mind when cornering, (a standard, basic apex line with as little steering input as possible, OR is it more of a "point-n-shoot" car, worhty of a quick snap in, later apex and a long exit? I'm sure both these driving line strategies could be put to use, but my real question is HOW does the s2k behave when going about it.
-Due to its oversteering behavior, my insticts would tell me to get the turn over as quick as possible, and get it pointed for the exit to get the rpms and speed back up, up up! = )
2. Is "throttle steering" possible with the s2k, and if so, is it a good strategy for faster lap times?

3. How does the S2k handle when trailnbraking? Twitchy? Easy to maintain? Death Trap? = P

4. I've heard about the oversteering issues on the ap1(which I plan to buy) and the sway bar that one could add to correct it; How will the sway bar affect handling when braking, and turn in during trailbraking?