S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Recommend Changing my own oil?- never done it before...wonder why you all do?

Old 07-25-2003, 08:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Recommend Changing my own oil?- never done it before...wonder why you all do?

Previously, I owned a Honda Accord, and I was content to take it to this cheapo place and get my oil, filter, and lube, for $20. The job takes less than 5 minutes, so you are in and out.

I'm moving to the Mobile 1, 10W 30 synthetic oil, and I was wondering if it's efficient for me to change my own oil from both a cost and time perspective.

I've never worked on cars before, but I'm pretty sure I could figure out how to do it. However, I don't own any equipment. So I don't have a drip pan, car-jack, funnel, filter, or the oil. Also, my apt complex won;t let me change the oil in my driveway, so I'd have to go somewhere else.

Should I invest the money to start chaning my own?
Old 07-25-2003, 08:29 AM
Rbh

I stopped changing my own oil about 7 years ago. I would crawl under the car, suv, Honda Accord etc and get dirty, aggravated (didn't jack up car but had 3 different oil filter wrenches and the minor equipment needed). Finally determined my garage mechanic was competent enough to service my cars other needs why not let him do this work instead of me saving $5-10. Use to enjoy it-too old (56). Don't need to be ASA certified to change oil. That's my opinion.

RBH
Old 07-25-2003, 08:33 AM

I've had bad experiences with some of the cheap quick lube places-- they use defective filters, incorrectly torque nuts, wrong oil type, wrong quantity, etc. so doing it yourself (if you are confident) assures that you are doing a proper job, and minimise the chance of having your engine seize up on the highway due to a missing oil plug.