S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

A quick question about caliper paint and dead horses

Old 04-07-2003, 07:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A quick question about caliper paint and dead horses

So I put the S onto jacks and painted the brakes a nice silver. I did three coats on each, reassembled everything and lowered the car. Then (remember, I am a MAN afterall) I read the instructions on the can o' paint. It says something about baking the painted object at 650 degrees to cure the paint. Crap. Cars down. I'm no mechanic, I don't want to raise it up, take apart the brakes and bake them in the oven. Although I'd be willing to risk a brake overall experiment on my old landcruiser, I don't my S to be the first brakes I bleed and drain, and whatever the hell else is required. So, I do a search. There have been at least 2 people who have painted their brakes and then forgone the baking bit for a good fast hard drive. Sounds great. BUT, I took my exhaust off Saturday and sent it to Las Vegas. My new ones should be here later this week. To sum up: Can't/won't/really shouldn't bake my brakes......and..... really can't drive right now. Here's my query: Will this stuff ever cure without baking? Will it eventually dry? Everything eventually dries, right? Am I doomed to reapply this stuff in a couple of months? Has anybody out there smacked some paint on and just let the S sit for 3-4 days for whatever reason: hospitilization? lost keys? witness protection program relocation? anything? Help!
Old 04-07-2003, 07:27 PM

My brake caliper paint kit didn't say anything about baking it on. I applied the 3 coats 6 mos ago, let it dry a few hours, and they're just fine.
Old 04-07-2003, 07:39 PM

ditto
Old 04-07-2003, 08:21 PM

I just painted mine today and they look great! No baking.

Paulie
Old 04-07-2003, 08:24 PM