S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

Newbie here, thinking of buying......would like some thoughts....

Old 06-25-2003, 06:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here, thinking of buying......would like some thoughts....

Hi, I'm new to this forum, but I have a feeling it may soon become my home. I test drove an S2000 this moring and was very impressed. In my new car search I have gone from looking at a new Audi S4, to a Boxster S, and now to the S2000. I think I may have found my car. The S4 was too much $ for the car, the Boxster S just makes me nervous (I've had 3 Porsches and they get to be a pain w/ expensive repair bills, and I was looking at used ones), so now it looks like a new S2000 may be the car for me.

Here are my thoughts from my test drive, if anyone cares....I thought it had more down low than I was expecting (a pleasant surprise), but it had a bit less up top than I expected (mildly disappointing, but still nice). Handling - Great!! Brakes - Great!! The quality seemed to be very good. While I was driving I felt a bit disappointed, but ever since I left the dealer I just am dying to drive it some more, I guess that tells me something. I think the 9k redline was wiggin' me out, "can I really do this without something exploding on me?" It seems like a car that you could spend the whole day driving and never get tired of it. I honestly think I will be getting one soon, but I have a few questions.