S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

lease vs. loan confusion - HELP PLEASE!

Old 11-20-2001, 03:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default lease vs. loan confusion - HELP PLEASE!

I have never leased a car so I have no experience.

I have a deposit down on an '02 S2. I'm planing to put 20K down in cash and then take out a car loan for the balance.

Is there any advantage to leasing a car when you know up front that you will be keeping it?

I'm not so much interested in a lower monthly payment I'm interested in the lowest overall cost.

Thanks!
Old 11-20-2001, 03:34 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Don't EVER lease if you can purchase.

Leasing only has one purpose: to lower monthly payments. Leasing is a fancy term for 'renting.' You have to give the car back, in the same condition, in a few years. The money you pay each month goes out the window.

- Warren
Old 11-20-2001, 03:38 PM

An addendum: the lowest overall cost is always to purchase in full, in cash.

You can do almost as well as full-in-cash by paying a healthy down payment and making significant monthly payments -- the faster you pay it off, the less interest you will ultimately pay.

With 20k down and a good 1k/mo. monthly payment on the remainder, you'll pay off your car in something like 12 months. With a one-year 5% APR loan you'll end up paying something like $600 in interest.

- Warren
Old 11-20-2001, 03:57 PM

I used to think so, but that isn't neccessarily true. Leasing can be cheaper, but only under certain limited conditions. Here are the facts:

- You only pay sales tax on your payment, NOT the overal price of the car
- You can typically get an effective APR on a lease that is at least 2 points lower than typical financing
- You can enter a lease with almost 0 down
- You don't own the car, but you have the option to buy the car at lease end, so if you plan on doing that anyway, the question is moot.

The real drawbacks are: