S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

I've created high standards my for shift work

Old 07-30-2014, 06:00 PM

Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts
Default I've created high standards my for shift work

We all change gear so many times that we probably don't think about it much, allowing muscle memory to seize control. I've always had this fascination with getting every gear change smoother-than-automatic perfect. I find it really rewarding. Makes me feel like I'm a good driver and being kind to my car. Low torque and close ratios make it a challenge every time I drive.

Some days I can really nail it. Ever redline 1st but cast aside the urge to slam 2nd? Slide into 2nd unhurriedly while letting the revs fall to just a bit above 6k in an AP2 and the change is butter smooth if you apply suitable throttle toward the really 'grabby' part of the clutch travel. Rev matching isn't just for downshifts. Timing this is even easier at redline in higher gears because it doesn't seem like there's as large a difference in ratios as there is from 1-2. Enhance the smoothness by gradually getting off the throttle approaching redline, clutching in quickly before engine braking begins.

Modulating the throttle instead of treating it like an on/off switch will diminish the abrupt change in momentum that's throwing your passenger's head all over the cabin. Do this through three or four gears and it's a kinda strange sensation because you're still moving quickly with the engine roaring but the cog changes rival an automatic for seamlessness. Zero jolt from drivetrain shock. Yes, it's slower than Best Motoring but speed isn't the objective here.