S2000 Talk Discussions related to the S2000, its ownership and enthusiasm for it.

I got a question - Drivablilty

Old 01-08-2001, 12:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I don't own a S2000 but I planned to get one this summer. I read many articles regarding this amazing car. There is one thing that worries me though. Every article I've read - the "expert" always saids "You really have to concentrate to drive this car" - What does that mean? Does it mena I got go to a driving school for this car??? I'm no expert driver and I even bought an old Del Sol to learn how to drive stick. That quote got me a little worry... Can anyone explain? Thanks.

------------------
Old 01-08-2001, 12:21 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I dont think you need to concentrate to drive this car, but I'd be worried about anyone who doesn't concentrate on driving.

The car is easy as cake to drive. You just need to figure out shift points for economy driving and then shift points for the gas-guzzling (not that much) "drive it like you stole it" mode - because its a vtec, its gotta be driven that way to get the most out of it.

Gunner,
It just means that you have to be a good driver to be able to extract all the goodness out of the S2000 without getting yourself into trouble when pushing it to its limits. I believe most sports car drivers love a car like the S2000 for just that reason. However, if you are only going to be driving the car at say 90% of its capabilities, it is an easy car to drive, and better still than a lot of cars out there, especially for the price, IMO.

Member (Premium)

Received 167 Likes on 100 Posts

IMO, the car is very tight and responsive.

If for instance you look down to change the cd, in some (most) cars you may get a bit of a drift, the s2k will move more than a little. Also when you push the pedal you will get a rush when the VTEC kicks in.

I don't have a problem with it, but do pay more attention.
Old 01-08-2001, 12:23 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts